Deutsch (Deutschland) English (United States)

News archive

First Annual General Meeting of the National Educational Panel Study

The National Educational Panel Study NEPS is a nationwide network of excellence that brings together expertise in the field of educational research from different locations.

Five years after its foundation, NEPS has turned from a temporary research project to a research-based infrastructure permanently financed under the funding agreement between German Federal and State Governments. As of January, NEPS is being carried out by the Leibniz Institute for Educational Trajectories (LIfBi) at the University of Bamberg, which has been founded primarily for this purpose. This transformation requires a restructuring of the organizational base of NEPS.
On Tuesday, March 18, 2014, the NEPS network partners gathered at the LIfBi in Bamberg for their first Annual General Meeting. After having consulted the entire network for a successful agreement on the “NEPS Network Charter”, all professors and the scientific management actively involved in NEPS were called upon to sign the document. Out of 36 authorized signatories, 31 exercised this right.

At the First Annual General Meeting the Chairpersons of the Annual General Meeting were elected.

Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt, University of Bamberg

Vice Chairperson:
Prof. Dr. Heike Solga, Berlin Social Science Center (WZB)

These two persons preside over the AGM, issue invitations, and conduct proceedings. Furthermore, in their capacity as Chairperson of the AGM they are automatically also on the Network Committee of the National Educational Panel Study. From among the professors at the University of Bamberg, the following persons were elected to the Network Committee:

•    Prof. Dr. Guido Heineck
•    Prof. Dr. Cornelia Kristen
•    Prof. Dr. Sabine Weinert

From among the cooperation partners and members of the NEPS Consortium, the following persons were elected to the Network Committee:

•    Prof. Dr. Hartmut Ditton, LMU Munich
•    Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
•    Prof. Dr. Olaf Köller, IPN–Leibniz-Institute for Science and Mathematics Education at the University of Kiel

This Network Committee holds strategic discussions on current and medium-term questions regarding the research and service activity of NEPS.

The LIfBi Board of Directors would like to thank all those elected for their willingness to participate.