Deutsch (Deutschland) English (United States)

The NEPS Network

A National Educational Panel aiming to carry out diachronic (longitudinal) research on central questions in education needs to integrate the theoretical and methodological approaches of various disciplines (such as educational science, educational psychology, developmental psychology, sociology of education, sociology, economics of education, employment research, poverty research, research on childhood and adolescence, family research, gender research, migration studies, demography, cultural research, diagnostics, statistics, and survey methods). This is the reason for bringing together an interdisciplinary consortium of research institutes, research groups, and leading researchers. The result is a network of excellence linking up a wide network of various competencies and experiences in longitudinal research to be found at different locations:

The organizational structure of the National Educational Panel Study is set down by the Rules and Regulations (download full document here).


The Rules and Regulations apply within the scope of the NEPS Network Charter (download full document here).

The following network partners (at the University of Bamberg and elsewhere) are the signatories of the Network Charter:

Jutta Allmendinger
Silke Anger
Cordula Artelt
Christian Aßmann
Hans-Peter Blossfeld
Wilfried Bos
Sandra Buchholz
Claus H. Carstensen
Hartmut Ditton
Michael Gebel
Guido Heineck
Monika Jungbauer-Gans
Frank Kalter
Corinna Kleinert
Olaf Köller
Cornelia Kristen
Ulf Kröhne
Wolfgang Ludwig-Mayerhofer
Kai Maaz
Nele McElvany
Reinhard Pollak
Susanne Rässler †
Hans-Günther Roßbach
Hildegard Schaeper
Thorsten Schneider
Heike Solga
Petra Stanat
Ludwig Stecher
Olaf Struck
Ulrich Trautwein
Jutta von Maurice
Sabine Weinert

The Annual General Meeting of NEPS

The main body of the NEPS network is the “Annual General Meeting of the National Educational Panel Study”. It convenes once a year and consists of the members of the LIfBi Board of Directors, the signatories of the Network Charter, and elected staff representatives. At the center of consultations held by the AGM is the long-term strategic orientation of NEPS as well as plans for the research and service design of NEPS, which the Director presents to the Scientific Advisory Board for a statement and to the Board of Trustees for resolution.


Members of the Annual General Meeting with voting rights are:

a)  The members of the LIfBi Board of Directors,
b)  all NEPS network partners from the University of Bamberg that have signed the Network Charter,
c)  all NEPS network partners from cooperation partners outside the University of Bamberg that have signed the Network Charter,
d)  and elected staff representatives.

The NEPS Network Committee

The NEPS Network Committee holds strategic discussions on current and medium-term questions regarding the research and service activity of NEPS. It also deals with contentious issues in connection with the implementation of the research and service planning of NEPS.


The Network Committee consists of:

•   The members of the LIfBi Board of Directors,
•   the elected Chairperson of the NEPS Annual General Meeting as well as his/her deputy,
•   elected representatives of the network partners, as well as
•   elected staff representatives.

In the 5th Meeting of the Annual General Meeting on February 19, 2018, the Chairpersons of the AGM were newly elected:

•   Chairman: Prof. Dr. Olaf Köller, IPN Kiel

•   Vice Chairman: Prof. Dr. Claus H. Carstensen, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg

These two persons preside over the AGM, issue invitations, and conduct proceedings. Furthermore, in their capacity as Chairperson of the AGM they are automatically also on the Network Committee of the National Educational Panel Study.

In the 5th Meeting of the Annual General Meeting the following persons were elected to be on the Network Committee:

•    Prof. Dr. Silke Anger, IAB Nürnberg
•    Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg
•    Prof. Dr. Guido Heineck, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg
•    Prof. Dr. Corinna Kleinert, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg
•    Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans, DZHW Hannover
•    Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pollak, WZB Berlin


NEPS Full Staff Meeting

All staff members of the Institute (LIfBi staff) as well as all staff members of network partners at the University of Bamberg and at our currently contracted cooperation partners (network staff) are eligible to vote in the Full Staff Meeting, provided that they are actively engaged in NEPS.